versailles: just can’t get enough

I can’t seem to fall asleep, so I figured why not begin my post of Versailles? This post is probably going to have to be divided into two or three parts because I’ve already gone on two visits. Honestly, I can’t really imagine seeing all of Versailles in one day, both the gardens and the chateau are massive!

The first trip I took was during my second weekend in Paris and I went with my school’s orientation program. Allegedly they were supposed to get us a discount but once I got to the ticket window I had to pay the full 15 euros for just access to the chateau (little did I know the gardens were extra. Either way, the chateau was absolutely beautiful! I’ve never seen a place filled with such extravagance in my entire life, King Louis XIV was not joking around when he had this place built.

The line to get into the Chateau was pretty long, but luckily it went by quickly. We also went on a Sunday which my guidebook had recommended to avoid (along with Tuesday) because it’s one of the most popular days since a lot of things are closed on Sundays. While they clearly try to make your trip to Versailles as authentic as possible, with classical music playing in the background, it is just so difficult to try and comprehend what it was like to walk through the hallways as Marie Antoinette with so many people surrounding you. However, I was still able to appreciate the evident detail that went into every aspect of designing this breathe-takingly beautiful space.

It probably took us about 2 hours to walk through the entire place, and as expected the Hall of Mirrors was stunning. The way that the view of the gardens reflected off of the mirrors was indescribable. If I write about this visit for too long I feel like I will just talk about its beauty in ten different ways (although the rooms got monotonous at times with the same general set up just in different color schemes) so I’ll cut it short. This was a visit definitely worth making and the views of the gardens inspired me to take time the next weekend to explore the gardens while the weather is still nice, a trip I’ll write about in my next post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sight-Seeing

Leave a Reply

