versailles: part deux

Seeing as my only class for the day has been cancelled, I’ve found this the perfect opportunity to continue my post on Versailles. As I said in the previous post, I made two trips; one to the Chateau and one to the gardens. Ohh the Versailles gardens, a place which I’m pretty sure embodies the ideals of beauty. The fountains, the statues, the symmetricality of the design, everything just comes together to create a place that young girls only dream of.

I’m so glad I was able to make it back to see the gardens before the weather got too cold because the vibrancy of the greens and the colors of the flowers really enhances the whole experience. It just amazes me that at one time people actually lived here and while it is incredibly well preserved, it makes you wonder how closely it resembles that time even down to the minute details like the shapes of the shrubbery.


After walking around for awhile, my friends and I got pretty hungry so we stopped at one of the cafes, which was surprisingly not terribly overpriced and I had a pretty good roasted chicken with fries and a salad for only 12 euros. We also got soft serve vanilla ice cream to go and it was absolutely amazing, I’ve never had soft serve with such strong vanilla flavor before! We eventually happened upon the Neptune Fountain which I had been so excited about seeing and it was just as impressive as they say it is.

Soon we happened upon this cute area at the end of the garden that seemed as if it came straight out of a painting. You could even rent the boats, which my friends and I were considering but we were banking on going for a bike ride and the bike rental place was closing soon so we had to rush to that. From there, we took a bike ride to Marie Antoinette’s village which I will be sure to embellish upon in the next post!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sight-Seeing

Leave a Reply

